Alyssa Koory, From Campus to the Runway

PAULSEN: With spring break right around the corner most college students are worried about their spring break bodies and finishing their homework. But for Alyssa Koory she has a lot more on her mind. Koory is getting ready to show her third collection at Omaha Fashion Week.

KOORY: “This year for Omaha Fashion Week I am showing an avant-garde line based off the poem Raven by Edgar Allen Poe. Each dress is like a different interpretation of the actual raven I guess. It will have a bunch of big long ball gowns, and ravens masks, and even a few actual wings.”

PAULSEN: Koory was able to juggle being a student and a designer in a week full of midterms. Koory is showing her collection on the Friday night, which is the campus’s final day before break begins.

KOORY: “I made sure all my homework was done last week so that was helpful and this week I just have to make a dress for Friday night for me to wear. I will be pretty good like I made sure it was all done last week just so I wouldn’t be stressed this week.”

PAULSEN: For the UNO School of Communication, I’m Colt Paulsen.

4 comments

  1. Daf Delgado · March 31, 2016

    Great story! I like the angle you took, different from what some other people would ask a fashion designer. I particularly enjoy her choice of inspiration, The Raven is a beautiful piece and her clothes must have been amazing.

    Like

  2. katiescarroll · April 3, 2016

    I loved this story, and can only imagine how intriguing the outfits were! It is crazy that she is also a full-time student and creating these masterpieces on the side. Great interview and audio story!

    Like

  3. clauber95 · April 4, 2016

    The outfits sound very creative and interesting! I like how you also asked her about how she balances her work with school. Your delivery for the audio interview is very good. Great job!

    Like

  4. angelaChicas · April 4, 2016

    What a unique clothing line that must be! Really great interview Colt! It’s quiet interesting what some designer will base their clothing lines off. Always enjoy reading your blogs! Keep up the great work.

    Like

Leave a Reply

